Changes

This year has definitely been a year of change in our family. My oldest is going to be 19 (!!!) in about a month, MiniMe will be 13 in just a few weeks! Beauty (the oldest) got a car, unfortunately it has a blown head gasket so she can’t drive it, even tho she still has to make the payments to the bank. We had to move out of our apartment and MiniMe and I have been staying with my brother and sister-in-law for a few months. I really appreciate them so much. My oldest hasn’t been staying with us, she’s been staying with friends for now but she recently told me that she’s realizing that she’s not ready to be on her own yet and asked if she could live with us again. I am proud of her for realizing her limitations and I’m glad that she came to me rather than continuing to struggle. I’ve missed her a lot and I worry about her all the time.
This week I was able to purchase a new (to me) vehicle! Yay!!! I’m very excited to be able to drive on the freeway again! I was driving a ginormous Chevy Conversion Van that gets 10 mpg (if I’m lucky!). I didn’t drive it on the freeway because I seriously couldn’t afford the amount of gas it would use. Last night the girls and I went to look at an apartment. It’s small (2 bedrooms) but we could make it work. I have been mentally going through my storage unit getting rid of things that I know I won’t have room for anymore. That’s ok with me! I have moved more times in the last 3 years then I have in the last 15! I lived with a horrible landlord for 10 years because I really really didn’t want to have to pack up everything and move. This apartment is back in the small community where I want to raise my family and although the location is historically not great, they have a new on-site manager who is making it her mission to clean the place up. We’ll see how it goes. Maybe our Christmas present this year will be having a home again!

I’m working in a field I never thought I would be working in but I’m enjoying it and learning a lot. After the first of the year I will be upping my hours and getting medical insurance! YAY!!! Having a chronic health condition but no insurance makes life very difficult sometimes. Lucky for me, I have an amazing doctor and he’s been very willing to work with me over the last couple of years.

My parents are now both in a nursing home. The just moved recently to a different one and we’re still dealing with some bumps along the way but I’m hoping it will work out better for them in the long run.

I’ve been spending a lot of time online reading different blogs about all kinds of different things. I can lose hours on Pinterest  looking for ideas to decorate small spaces or finding really yummy recipes. I’ve actually made a few of the recipes I’ve found on there and they totally lived up to the expectations. Bonus!!! I even found a couple of blogs that inspired me to try making my own yogurt! I’ve found lots of food blogs and DIY blogs and am feeling all kinds of creative. Now, if I could just find the time/space/money to do all those cool things we’d be getting somewhere…

What kinds of changes have you experienced this year?

Leave a Reply

