Greek Yogurt – my way! **Updated!**

**UPDATE 1/25/13**
I make this about once a week (I get about a gallon of yogurt every time I make it) and my most recent batch was seriously the best one yet!
**Changes**
1 quart Half and Half
1 pint Whipping Cream
4ish Cups Whole Milk (I just add enough to fill the crockpot almost all the way)
1 cup store-bought yogurt with live cultures

Pour Half and Half and Whipping Cream in crockpot. Stir. Add whole milk until almost to the top of the crockpot. Turn crockpot on high and cover. Check occasionally and stir with a plastic or rubber utensil. A digital thermometer works really great at this point. I have one that I picked up at the DollarTree that is strictly for yogurt! Bring the liquid up to 105 degrees then shut it off. (I actually let it get this hot on accident but it totally worked!) Put the store-bought yogurt in a bowl and add the warmed milk to thin it out as below. Wrap it up in the towel and heating pad as below and let sit overnight (about 12 hours). Pour into a resealable container and refrigerate until cold. It will be thick when it’s warm but will thicken even more when it’s cold.

It’s not fat-free but it doesn’t have all the extra added chemicals that store-bought stuff has. Plus it’s about $5 for everything!
Try it and let me know what you think!

I’ve been trying to make homemade yogurt. My first attempt ended badly. My second attempt was a little better but still really thin and runny. Well, today I had a major success!!!

TaDa!!! I’m very excited! Here’s the recipe I used if you’re interested…

Greek Yogurt – My Way

Ingredients: (I used a 4 cup crock-pot so if you use a bigger one you will need to adjust your liquid ingredients accordingly.)

  • 1 Pint Half and Half**
  • Enough milk to make 4 cups (2 cups I think?)**
  • 1/2 of an individual serving size store-bought yogurt with active cultures (About 2 Tbsp) You could use either plain or vanilla. I used Tillamook French Vanilla Bean. YUMMY!!!

That’s it! Seriously! Ok, now here’s the hard part… I used a plastic spoon for all of the stirring. Not sure if metal or plastic makes a huge difference but it’s what I used.

In crock pot heat Milk and Half and Half to 103 degrees. (I used a sterilized thermometer) Once the liquid reaches 103 degrees turn off the crock pot and unplug it. In a small bowl mix the store-bought yogurt (starter) with a couple of spoonfuls of warm milk until it’s really thin and runny.

Pour the thinned yogurt starter back into the warm milk and stir gently to get it all mixed in.

I have a really warm place to put it (on top of the furnace) so I just wrapped the whole crock pot in a thick towel and set it on top of the furnace and left it overnight. If you don’t have a warm spot (around 90-95 degrees) you could set the crock pot on an electric heating pad on the lowest setting and wrap the whole thing in a thick towel or blanket to keep it warm. Let it sit 12 hours (I let it sit overnight). I think you could let it sit even longer if you had to and it would be ok but I’m not sure about that yet. I’ll try it next time and update then.

After 12 hours or so remove it from the warm place and pour it into a resealable plastic container (I happened to have a large Cool Whip container I’m using) Put it in the fridge for a couple of hours for it to get cold.

It should be thick when you first uncover it but it will get even thicker when it’s cold. We had some for dessert tonite and I just had it plain with a tiny bit of sugar. MiniMe added sliced strawberries and a couple of frozen blueberries with a little more sugar to hers.

It’s that easy! Seriously!!! You really should try it! I’m guessing if you had access to raw milk you wouldn’t need to use the Half and Half but I don’t so I have to improvise.

As far as making a larger batch I think the main thing you would increase is the milk. You might want to add a little more starter (store-bought yogurt) and maybe a little more Half and Half or even just a small container of whipping cream. A couple of sites I’ve seen recommend not using “Ultra-Pasturized” milk but that was all I could find and it worked out just fine.

I plan on experimenting more so I’ll update when I try some other variations.

**UPDATE**

I made this again last weekend but changed up a couple of things. I used my 5 qt crock pot so I could make a larger batch. I used 1 qt of half and half and the rest milk. I left a little space at the top but that’s up to you.  I also tried the heating pad method and it worked perfect. I just placed the whole crock pot not just the insert) on top of the heating pad and wrapped it up in a towel. I put the towel down first, then the heating pad, then put the crock pot on top of it so I could wrap the whole thing up nice and snug. I still only let it sit for 12 hours but I think I may try for a little longer next time. MiniMe is seriously loving it with frozen blueberries and strawberries! She adds about 1/2 tsp of sugar to her serving and is already telling me I need to make more!

 

2 comments on “Greek Yogurt – my way! **Updated!**

  1. Pingback: Changes | The Sandwich Generation

Leave a Reply

