What’s for dinner?

So I’m going to try to add some more content to my page. What??? What I really mean is I have another idea of things to blog about. I’m going to share some of my recipe ideas with you all. All 2 of  you that read this anyway. 🙂

My goal is to only post recipes that I’ve actually tried and not just the ones that I have saved everywhere. I have determined that looking at food blogs when I’m hungry is a really bad idea. It just makes me more hungry. I’m working on getting a decent camera so I can take better pictures but for now, I’ll be using the camera on my phone. Gotta work with what I got!

If you have any recipe ideas that you’ve actually tried and your family likes them, I’m all about trying new things. Except tuna fish. I have an “allergy” to canned tuna. It makes me throw up. That counts as an allergy, right? I can honestly say I’ve never ever made Tuna Noodle Casserole and I refuse to apologize for it! My family knows that if they want tuna they better hide it from me. I have been known to throw away* cans I find hidden in my cupboards!

So if you have something you think I might like, let me know! If you have crockpot recipes that you love, let me know about those for sure! I’m also trying to get into the “freeze it” thing so I can just do a bunch of prep work one day and have it all ready to throw in the crockpot in the morning or the oven when I get home so I don’t have to think about it.

* I actually donated them to the foodbank not the garbage dump. I know SOME people actually like tuna (blech!)

I’ll start with what we had for dinner last nite.

Tangy Mustard Chicken adapted from “Worlds Best Chicken”

This was a recipe I found on Pinterest originally. The first time I made it I followed the recipe exactly. I’ve made it a couple more times since then and have changed it to suit our tastes a little more. Last night I made an extra-large batch so I’ll use the quantities I made for that but it’s easily adaptable for smaller amounts. This batch made enough to serve 8.

  • 5-7 lbs chicken (I used the hindquarters I got on sale last week. I think there were 12 pieces in the package)
  • 3 Tbsp chopped garlic (I use the kind in the big jar from Costco but you could use fresh also. Probably 3-4 cloves of fresh would do it)
  • 1 1/2 Cup Maple Syrup (I used pancake syrup simply because that’s what I had. Real Maple Syrup would probably be even better!)
  • 1/2 Cup Dijon Mustard
  • 1 tsp Vinegar
  • Rosemary
  • Salt and Pepper

Preheat oven to 350°. Place chicken in single layer in baking dish. Salt and Pepper chicken. Mix garlic, maple syrup and mustard in bowl until blended. Spoon over chicken pieces. Top with crushed Rosemary (I just use dry and break it apart a little in my hand before sprinkling it on the top). Cover with foil and bake for 45 minutes or until chicken is cooked and juices run clear. Remove foil for last 15 minutes so chicken can get a little more color. The sugar in the syrup browns up very nicely and quickly without drying the chicken out.

The first time I made this I thought the Dijon mustard flavor was a little to strong. The second time I made it I mixed a smaller amount of Dijon with mayonnaise. It tasted pretty good but the mayo separated and made the sauce look weird. This time I just used more syrup to make enough sauce for the amount of chicken I was cooking and didn’t add the mayo. The chicken I used was also still partially frozen so I had to cook it much longer. I think the first time I made it I used fresh chicken breast and bone-in thighs and it only took about 40 minutes total.

This isn’t my picture. It’s from the website of the original poster of the recipe “worlds-best-chicken”

This is a recipe that I actually enjoy but my family thinks it’s just okay. I’ll keep playing with it to find just the right thing to make them love it so I can eat it more often 🙂

Leave a Reply

